. . . Stand By . . .

page content
Various Artists - Concert for the People of Kampuchea     - MACCA-Central.com, The Paul McCartney FUNsite

Concert for the People of Kampuchea

    Artist: Various Artists
Title: Concert for the People of Kampuchea
Orignal Release: March 30, 1981 (1981-03-30) (US) 3 April 1981 (UK)
Label: Atlantic Records
Catalog #: SD 2-7005
Producer: Chris Thomas
All material is presented for the sole purpose of promoting Paul McCartney and his music,
and the music of his Beatle bandmates, John, George and Ringo.
No copyright violation is intended or encouraged.
Got To Get You Into My Life  Lennon/McCartney 
Every Night  Paul McCartney 
Coming Up  Paul McCartney 
Lucille  Albert Collins & Little Richard 
Let it Be  Lennon/McCartney 
Rockestra Theme  Paul McCartney 

Album Notes for: Concert for the People of Kampuchea

Recorded: Dec. 26,27,28 and 29th, 1979

26 December
* Queen
27 December
* Ian Dury and the Blockheads
* Matumbi
* The Clash
28 December
* The Pretenders
* The Specials
* The Who
29 December
* Elvis Costello & The Attractions
* Rockpile (with guest Robert Plant on "Little Sister")
* Wings
* Rockestra

Queen (setlist)
1. Jailhouse Rock
2. We Will Rock You (fast version)
3. Let Me Entertain You
4. Somebody to Love
5. If You Can't Beat Them
6. Mustapha
7. Death on Two Legs
8. Killer Queen
9. I'm in Love with My Car
10. Get Down, Make Love
11. You're My Best Friend
12. Save Me
13. Now I'm Here
14. Don't Stop Me Now
15. Spread Your Wings
16. Love of My Life
17. '39
18. Keep Yourself Alive
19. Drums solo
20. Guitar solo with parts of Silent Night
21. Brighton Rock reprise
22. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
23. Bohemian Rhapsody
24. Tie Your Mother Down
25. Sheer Heart Attack
26. We Will Rock You
27. We Are the Champions
28. God Save the Queen (tape)

The Clash (setlist)
1. Clash City Rockers
2. Brand New Cadillac
3. Safe European Home
4. Jimmy Jazz
5. Clampdown
6. The Guns of Brixton
7. Train in Vain
8. Wrong 'Em Boyo
9. Koka Kola
10. (White Man) In Hammersmith Palais
11. Stay Free
12. Bankrobber
13. Janie Jones
14. Complete Control
15. Armagideon Time
16. London Calling

The Who (setlist)
1. Substitute
2. I Can't Explain
3. Baba O'Riley
4. The Punk and the Godfather
5. My Wife
6. Sister Disco
7. Behind Blue Eyes
8. Music Must Change
9. Drowned
10. Who Are You
11. 5.15
12. Pinball Wizard
13. See Me Feel Me
14. Long Live Rock
15. My Generation
16. I'm a Man
17. Sparks
18. I Can See for Miles
19. Young Man Blues
20. Won't Get Fooled Again
21. Summertime Blues
22. Dancing In The Streets
23. Dance It Away
24. The Real Me

Wings (setlist)
1. Got To Get You Into My Life
2. Getting Closer
3. Every Night
4. Again And Again And Again
5. I've Had Enough
6. No Words
7. Cook Of The House
8. Old Siam Sir
9. Maybe I'm Amazed
10. The Fool on the Hill
11. Hot As Sun
12. Spin It On
13. Twenty Flight Rock
14. Go Now
15. Arrow Through Me
16. Coming Up
17. Goodnight Tonight
18. Yesterday
19. Mull of Kintyre
20. Band On The Run

Rockestra (setlist)
1. Rockestra Theme
2. Let It Be
3. Lucille
4. Rockestra Theme (reprise)

The Concerts for the People of Kampuchea was put together by Paul McCartney, who wanted to organise a musical benifit for the starving Kampuchean (Cambodia) people. Incorporating some of the best British talent at the time, there were a series of concerts held to sell-out crowds at London's Hammersmith Odeon theatre. The who played an amazing three hour performance, and four of the tracks made it to the album, which boasts a great live version (the only to my knowledge) of Sister Disco and a five-minute 'see me, feel me'.

The Rockestra tracks are made up of various performers listed below, which was another of Sir Paul's ideas;

Rockestra performers:
Paul McCartney
Linda McCartney
Denny Laine
Laurence Juber
Steve Holly
John Bonham
Billy Bremner
Gary Brooker
Howie Casey
Tony Dorsey
Dave Edmunds
James Honeyman-Scott
Steve Howard
Kenney Jones
John Paul Jones
Ronnie Lane
Robert Plant
Thadeus Richard
Bruce Thomas
Pete Townshend
All material is presented soley for the purpose of promoting Paul McCartney and his music. No copyright violation is intended or encouraged.
Original material © 1997-2019 Kovy Productions. You may not use any information from this site without permission.
Created by

Mike Kovacich
MACCA-Central logo
This site requires an HTML 4.0 Transitional compatible browser such the latest Internet Explorer, FireFox.
Best viewed at least 1024 x 768 screen resolution. test your browser
Apycom jQuery Menus