CAUTION with posts ???????

This blog is an open discussion of The Beatles

Moderator: Mike

CAUTION with posts ???????

Postby linclink » Sat Nov 07, 2009 8:34 am

These look VERY much like spam, potentially dangerous spam...just a heads up.
These aren't actually posted in any thread that makes any sense...they are subjects unrelated to what the thread title is.
Maybe I'm wrong & if so I apologize, but just in case thought I'd put in a heads up for some folks who might be less savvy with these sorts of things (not that I'm super savvy)...safe cyber travels everyone...Blessings!
Om Namah Shivaya !!!!
linclink
Silver member
Silver member
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:05 pm
Location: Canandaigua, New York, USA, Earth, Cosmos of Light & Love



Bookmark and Share

Advertisement


Become a MACCA-Central Supporter or Subscriber Today!
Find out how you can help ... click here


Click Here
To see Donations Status

Re: CAUTION with posts ???????

Postby Mike » Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:53 am

I consider myself pretty savy :) and I wonder how those posts are considered spam, unless I am missing something. The new user you referred seemed to post new posts. We certainly do not want to discourage people, especially new people from posting. I do appreciate you trying to protect the integrity of oBLOGdi-oBLOGda.
Mike Kovacich

http://www.macca-central.com . . . . . . . . . . . . http://www.maccaradio.com
The Paul McCartney FUNSITE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . The Voice of The Beatles
User avatar
Mike
Supporter
Supporter
 
Posts: 3264
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Ontario, Canada



Bookmark and Share

Re: CAUTION with posts ???????

Postby linclink » Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:39 pm

Sorry Mike :oops: I was just very suspicious & didn't dare click on them because they seemed so random...as in the posts had nothing to do with the title of the thread (White Album stuff on a Help thread?!?) AND they provided an outside link to click to...which is often where the bomb lies. I apologize if I am wrong, but between the links & lack of continuity in where things were being posted, it just seemed odd, as in fishy, to me...Blessings!
Om Namah Shivaya !!!!
linclink
Silver member
Silver member
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:05 pm
Location: Canandaigua, New York, USA, Earth, Cosmos of Light & Love



Bookmark and Share

Re: CAUTION with posts ???????

Postby little lamb dragonfly » Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:20 am

It is fishy, but the links are real. That doesn't mean it is not spam: all the links send us to the same outside site. The person sending the links seems to be wanting to increase traffic to that site. But they are Beatles links, so I guess it depends on how you define spam!
User avatar
little lamb dragonfly
Bronze member
Bronze member
 
Posts: 522
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:07 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY



Bookmark and Share


Return to The Beatles: General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Harrythebannister and 1 guest